If price per person decides it, Bitwarden Families is the cheapest of the two family plans with a confirmed price: $47.88 a year for up to 6 people, which works out to $7.98 per member per year. 1Password Families costs $71.88 a year at its standard rate for 5 people, or $14.38 per member per year. The other two plans in this guide, Dashlane and NordPass, do not have a family price confirmed on their official pages, so they are compared on features and member counts only. This is a buying guide based on published specifications, not a hands-on review. All prices below were read on official vendor pages on 28 Oct 2026.
How much does a family password manager cost per person?
Our analysis, calculated from confirmed prices only: household totals are the standard annual rates, and the per-member figure divides by the maximum included members. A household using fewer than the maximum seats pays more per actual user, so the household total is the figure a smaller household actually pays for that billing period.
| Plan | Household total per year | Members | Per member per year |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1Password Families (standard) | $71.88 | 5 | $14.38 |
| 1Password Families (first-year promo) | $53.88 | 5 | $10.78 |
| Bitwarden Families | $47.88 | 6 | $7.98 |
| Dashlane Friends & Family | Not confirmed on official page | 10 | Not calculable |
| NordPass Family | Not confirmed on official page | 6 | Not calculable |
At standard rates, Bitwarden costs $6.40 less per member per year than 1Password ($14.38 minus $7.98). Even against 1Password’s first-year promotional rate of $10.78 per member per year, Bitwarden’s standard rate is $2.80 lower per member per year. Two caveats from the vendors’ own pages: Bitwarden states taxes are not included in its shown pricing, and 1Password’s promotional rate applies only to the first year for new customers subscribing directly through 1Password.com, not through Google Play, the Apple App Store, or other third-party app stores.
How many people can share one plan?
Dashlane covers the most people: the account holder plus nine members of their close circle, 10 people in total. Bitwarden covers 6 accounts (the holder plus 5 invitees), and NordPass covers 6 user accounts that can be added or removed at any time through the Nord Account dashboard. 1Password Families includes 5 seats. Headcount alone is not value, since Dashlane’s family price is unconfirmed and NordPass’s is too, but if you need 7 to 10 seats on one plan, Dashlane is the only plan here that reaches that size.
Can family members keep their passwords private from each other?
Yes, on the plans that describe this. 1Password says each family member can keep personal information private while sharing items through shared vaults, with admin controls to manage, add, remove, or recover members. Bitwarden splits storage into 5 GB personal and 5 GB for shared organization files, and lets the family organize and share logins by category with control over who sees what. Dashlane gives each person an independent account, so data stays private unless a member chooses to share it, and collections organize shared logins and Secure Notes. NordPass describes its Family plan as six separate accounts combined, with members added or removed at any time. No vendor page read for this guide states a household-address or residency rule, even though pages say “family members or friends”, so do not assume one exists; check the vendor’s terms.
Does it work on all your devices?
Bitwarden is the only vendor of the four that states “unlimited devices and passwords” on the page read. 1Password lists apps for macOS, iOS, watchOS, Windows, Android, and Linux, plus browser extensions for Chrome, Safari, Edge, Firefox, and Brave, but states no numeric device cap. Dashlane says members can access data on all their devices anytime, with no numeric cap stated. NordPass says access on multiple devices, again with no numeric cap stated. This guide does not claim a device limit where the vendor states none.
What each plan actually includes
1Password Families. End-to-end encryption of vault contents, dual-layer protection from an account password plus a Secret Key, two-factor authentication, biometrics, and passkeys. Watchtower alerts for weak or reused passwords and breached websites, Travel Mode to hide selected vaults when crossing borders, 1 GB of storage per user, 5 guest accounts for vault sharing, unlimited shared vaults, and a 14-day trial for Individual or Families plans.
Bitwarden Families. Zero-knowledge encryption, reports that identify weak passwords, a built-in username and password generator, Bitwarden Send for expiring links for temporary access, emergency access, priority customer support, and 10 GB of encrypted storage in total. A Families trial is offered, though the page read does not state its length in days.
Dashlane Friends & Family. Unlimited passwords and login details, a password generator, password history, autofill for email, username, password, ID, and payment info, a Password Health score, two-factor authentication, breach notifications, Dark Web Monitoring notifications, AI-powered scam protection, and vault phishing alerts. Secure Notes include 1 GB of encrypted file storage. One limit matters: Wi-Fi VPN protection is available only to the plan manager on a Friends & Family plan, not to invited members, who get the same Premium features without the VPN.
NordPass Family. Autosave and autofill, secure storage, access on multiple devices, Password Health, a Data Breach Scanner, the NordPass Authenticator, and file attachments. Members store, manage, and share passwords, passkeys, credit card details, and other personal information.
What to check before you pay
First, the promotional fine print. 1Password’s $4.49 rate is a first-year promotional price for new customers subscribing directly through 1Password.com with annual billing; the standard rate of $5.99 per month applies after that. Second, Bitwarden’s shown pricing excludes taxes. Third, Dashlane’s and NordPass’s family prices were not readable on their official pages on 28 Oct 2026, so check the vendor’s own checkout before buying; this guide deliberately does not fill those gaps with third-party price quotes. Fourth, Keeper is not included here at all, because its official pricing page could not be verified during research, and a borrowed figure would be worse than an honest omission. Pairing any of these with an authenticator app is worth doing: our best authenticator apps guide covers backup and recovery for the second factor these plans rely on.
Frequently asked questions
Which family password manager is cheapest per person? Among plans with a price confirmed on an official page, Bitwarden Families at $7.98 per member per year at standard rates. 1Password Families is $14.38 per member per year at its standard rate, or $10.78 in its first promotional year.
Can I share a plan with someone outside my household? The vendor pages say “family members or friends”, but none of the pages read states a household-address rule, so this guide claims no such rule. Check the vendor’s terms for your situation.
Does Dashlane’s VPN cover the whole family? No. On a Friends & Family plan, Wi-Fi VPN protection is available only to the plan manager. Invited members get the same Premium features without the VPN.
Is there a free trial? 1Password offers a 14-day trial for Individual or Families plans. Bitwarden offers a Families trial, though the page read does not state its length in days. Trial terms for Dashlane and NordPass family plans were not stated on the official pages read.
Sources
- 1Password, official pricing page, read 28 Oct 2026: https://1password.com/pricing/password-manager
- Bitwarden, official Families page, read 28 Oct 2026: https://bitwarden.com/products/families/
- Dashlane, official support page for the Friends & Family plan, read 28 Oct 2026: https://support.dashlane.com/hc/en-us/articles/360013369820-Dashlane-Friends-Family-plan
- NordPass, official Family page, read 28 Oct 2026: https://nordpass.com/special-3/
- NordPass, official family password manager page (Family column confirms 6 accounts including NordPass Authenticator), read 28 Oct 2026: https://nordpass.com/family-password-manager/
- NordPass, official blog page on the Family plan (member count only), read 28 Oct 2026: https://nordpass.com/blog/discover-family-plan/
Prices last checked 28 Oct 2026. Vendor pricing and plan contents can change; the vendor’s own page is the final word before you buy.
